CDHA Demography Training Seminar

CDHA's weekly training seminar (Soc 995) on the University of Wisconsin campus provides training and professional development to graduate students in the demography of health and aging. This seminar is open to all. We usually meet on Wednesday at 2-3:15 PM in Room 8417 William H. Sewell Social Science Building.

Add CDHA seminar to your electronic calendars
How to subscribe to the calendar via google

Fall 2018

Wednesday, September 5
Intro & Overview of the graduate training program
Marcy Carlson, UW-Madison CDE
Michal Engelman, UW-Madison Sociology
Jason Fletcher, UW-Madison CDHA
John Mullahy, UW-Madison Population Health
Jenna Nobles, UW-Madison Sociology
Jim Raymo, UW-Madison Sociology

Wednesday, September 12
Workshop PAA Abstracts
Michal Engelman, UW-Madison Sociology

Wednesday, September 19
No Seminar: Yom Kippur

Wednesday, September 26
Writing a Research Paper for Publication
Michal Engelman, UW-Madison Sociology
Jason Fletcher, UW-Madison CDHA
Jenna Nobles, UW-Madison Sociology

Wednesday, October 3
Research-in-Progress
Qian He, UW-Madison Sociology

Monday, October 8
Genetics and Social Sciences: An Overview
Philipp Koellinger, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Economics
[Note: Special Date and Time, Monday 2:30-3:30pm]

Wednesday, October 17
Causal inference with Big Data
Hyunseung Kang, UW-Madison Statistics

Wednesday, October 24
Careers outside Academia
Kiersten Strombotne, American Institutes for Research
Jessa Lewis Valentine, DVP-Praxis LTD

Wednesday, October 31
Epigenetics: A Social Scientist’s Perspective
Colter Mitchell, University of Michigan

Wednesday, November 7
Agent-Based Modeling with NetLogo (I)
Jennifer Stenglein, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

Wednesday, November 14
Agent-Based Modeling with NetLogo (II)
Jennifer Stenglein, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources

Wednesday, November21
Thanksgiving break

Wednesday, November 28
Structuring Arguments
TBA, UW-Madison Writing Center

Wednesday, December 5
New Rules for Human Subjects Research? What Happened to the Old Ones?
Susan Lederer, UW-Madison Medical History and Bioethics

Wednesday, December 12
Practice Job Talk
Esteban Quiñones, UW-Madison Agricultural & Applied Economics

Previous CDHA Seminars