CDHA Demography Training Seminar

CDHA's weekly training seminar (Soc 995) on the University of Wisconsin campus provides training and professional development to graduate students in the demography of health and aging. This seminar is open to all. We usually meet on Wednesday at 2-3:15 PM in Room 8417 William H. Sewell Social Science Building.

Add CDHA seminar to your electronic calendars
How to subscribe to the calendar via google

Fall 2017

Wednesday, September 6
Intro & Overview of the Graduate Training Program
Marcy Carlson, UW-Madison Sociology
Michal Engelman, UW-Madison Sociology
John Mullahy, UW-Madison Population Health
Jenna Nobles, UW-Madison Sociology
Jim Raymo, UW-Madison Sociology

Wednesday, September 13
Writing a Strong Conference Abstract
Michal Engelman, UW-Madison Sociology

Wednesday, September 20
Workshop PAA Abstracts
Jenna Nobles, UW-Madison Sociology

Wednesday, September 27
The Institutional Review Board: What You Need to Know
Casey Pellien, Social & Behavioral Sciences IRB

Wednesday, October 4
Separating Social and Biological Processes: Relative versus Absolute Body Weight and Youth Outcomes
Jinho Kim, UW-Madison Sociology

Wednesday, October 11
Introducing the Health Disparities Postdocs
Chenoa Allen, Linnea Evans, Madelyne Greene, & Emily Hendrick, Health Disparities Research Scholars
Megan Zuelsdorff, Center on Demography of Health and Aging, Postdoctoral Fellow

Wednesday, October 18
Make Your Publications Public: Federal Access Requirements and Research Profiles
Ryan Schryver, Ebling Library
Trisha Adamus, Ebling Library

Wednesday, October 25
Create Your Own Professional Website
Caitlin Tefft, UW-Madison Social Science Computing Cooperative

Wednesday, November 1
Age-Period-Cohort Models & Controversies
Ethan Fosse, Princeton University

Wednesday, November 8
R skills: dplyr & ggplot
Nathan Jones, UW-Madison Survey Center
Jenna Nobles, UW-Madison Sociology

Wednesday, November 15
Formal Demography: State of the Field
Michel Guillot, University of Pennsylvania

Wednesday, November 22
Thanksgiving Break

Wednesday, November 29
Methods for Panel Data
Jim Walker, UW-Madison Economics

Wednesday, December 6
Population Studies in Historical and Critical Perspective
Michal Engelman, UW-Madison Sociology

Wednesday, December 13
Framing and Developing Your Research Agenda
Robert Hummer, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Previous CDHA Seminars